TERRIFIC TEENS Chennai's Abdul, Pune's Sarthak grab pole positions

DC CORRESPONDENT CHENNAI, OCT. 20

Two teenagers, Sarthak Chavan from Pune and Chennai collegian Abdul Basim put in sizzling laps to qualify for pole position in their respective categories as the fifth and final round of the MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship 2023 got underway at the Madras International Circuit, here on Friday

The 16-year-old Sarthak who joined Petronas TVS Racing team this season, took pole position in the premier Pro-stock 301-400cc Open category with a best lap of one minute, 50.854 seconds.

50.854 seconds. Qualifying for P2 was championship leader, Chennai's Rajiv Sethu (RACR Castrol Power1 Ultimate) who clocked a best of 01:51.076 despite nursing a healing left shoulder that was dislocat-ed following a crash in the producing a crash in the previous round. Completing the front row was Hyderabad's Rahil Pillarisetty (KTM Gusto Racing) with a hot lap of 01:51.823.

Later, 17-year-old Abdul Basim of Gulf Rockers Racing team, the younger brother of KY Ahamed who last month participat-ed in the Moto3 class of Indian MotoGP, put in a lap of 02:07.685 for his maiden pole position in the Novice (Stock 165cc) category, ahead Vadodara's Adit of Shah (Axor Sparks Racing, 02:08.260) and Bengaluru's Manvith Reddy K (RACR Castrol Power1 Ultimate, 02:08.253).

In the other premier cat-egory, the Pro-Stock 165cc Open, KY Ahamed (01:56.224) of Petronas TVS Racing was the quickest in the practice session,



Abdul Basim en route to his pole position in the Novice 165cc category of the fifth and final round of the MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship on Friday.

followed by team-mates Sarthak Chavan (01:57.069) and Chiranth Vishwanath (01:57.540).

Idemitsu Honda India Talent Cup: Championship leader in the NSF 250R category Chennai's Kavin Quintal (01:52.262), who is gunning for his sixth win of the season, topped the timesheets in the official practice session. Another Chennai youngster Rakshith Dave was the quickest second 01:53.367. in

Petronas TVS One-Make Championship: Bengaluru teenager Chiranth Vishwanath, who has four wins from seven starts, expectedly qualified for pole position in the Open (RR 310) category, clocking



a best lap of 01:54.621, fol-lowed by Coimbatore's Senthilkumar C (01:54.848) and G Balaji (01:56.100) from Chennai.

Mumbai's Sarah Khan, with a hot lap of 02:13.553, qualified for the pole position in the Girls (Apache RTR 200) category, ahead of Chennai's Nadine Faith Balaji (02:14.714) and Pune's Saimah Ajaz Baig (02:16.499). RESULTS

Qualifying - Top 3 best laps: National Championship - Pro-Stock 301-400cc Open: 1. Sathak Chavan (Pune, Petronas TVS Racing) (1min, 50.854sec); 2. Rajiv Sethu (Chennai, RACR Castrol Power 1 Ultimate) Power 1 (01:51.076); 3. Rahil (Hyderabad, Pillarisetty Gusto Racing) KTM (01:51.823); Novice (Stock 165cc): 1.

Abdul Basim (Chennai, Gulf Rockers Racing) (02:07.685); 2. Aadit Shah (Vadodara, Axor Sparks Racing) (02:08.260); 3. Reddy Manvith

(Bengaluru, Team RACR Castrol Power 1 Ultimate) (02:08.253).

Support Race - 301-400cc Novice: 1. Aldrin Babu (Chennai, RACR Castrol Ultimate1) Power (02:04.717); 2. Rajeswaran K (Chennai, KTM Gusto Racing India) (02:07.101); 3. Dhanush Ram K (Bengaluru, Pvt) (02:07.332).

Petronas TVS One-Make Championship: Open (301-400cc, RR 310): 1. Chiranth Vishwanath (Bengaluru) (01:54.621); 2. Senthilkumar (Coimbatore) (01:54.848); 3. G Balji (Chennai) (01:56.100). Girls (Apache RTR 200): 1. Sarah Khan (Mumbai)

(02:13.553); 2. Nadine Faith Balaji (Chennai) (02:14.714); 3. Saimah Ajaz Baig (Pune) (02:16,499).